International Projects

ince its inception, CASD has been committed to opening transnational access to confidential data for research purposes. With this in mind, Access has always been possible from countries of the European Union and its associated countries under the same conditions as for resident researchers in France. Access is also now open from North America with some specific provisions. CASD has actively participated in European and international projects aimed at facilitating the use of confidential data across national borders.

Secure access from European Union countries and associated countries

For residents of the European Union and its associated countries, the accreditation criteria and procedures are identical to those of residents in France (authorization procedure). Accreditation with the Statistical Confidentiality Committee and enrollment at CASD require a short trip to France. Secure access can then be done from the applicant’s hosting institution, via the installation of an SD-Box sent by post.

INSEE data now accessible to North America

INSEE, in its desire to support research, has also authorized access to its data with CASD SD-Boxes located in the United States and Canada under the following conditions:

  • Researchers who are citizens of a Member State of the European Union while working at a North American university or research center;
  • North American researchers working as part of a research project in partnership with a center or university in a Member State of the European Union.

CASD strives to promote easier European and international access for researchers to confidential data across national boundaries. After having participated in two European projects on the conditions and feasibility of a network of secure centers for both national and European data, (DwB FP7 for national data and EssNet,funded by Eurostat, for European data), CASD is coordinating the IDAN (International Data Access Network) building cooperation between 6 secure centers across 4 countries (France, Germany, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom) with the aim of making it easier for researchers to use confidential data from these centers for the same project. Partnerships are gradually being set up, such as the one with the German Federal Employment Agency FDZ / IAB.

EssNet SCFE

CASD is a partner of the ESSnet SCFE project (Sharing Common Functionalities in the ESS), coordinated by INSEE and funded by EUROSTAT through the European Commission.  This project aims to promote sharing experiences and developing common solutions between statistical institutes and statistical authorities within the ESS in the perspective of a “customer-oriented” architecture.

CASD works with INSEE on reusing the RDF (Resource Description Framework) of INSEE to recuperate the main metadata from the source so it can be made available to users.

CESSDA

CESSDA (Consortium of European Social Sciences Data Archives) has a mission: coordinate the access to data in Europe for SSH research through best practices in archiving, documentation and access to data bases for member countries. It is one out of five large sized SSH research infrastructures recognized by the ESFRI (European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures) process.

CASD contributes to CESSDA developments and to its activities through PROGEDO (PROduction et GEstion des DOnnées en SHS – Production and Management of SSH data-).

France, founding member of the European Network

Dating back to 1976, CESSDA has been an official European research infrastructure since 2013 and was granted the status of ERIC (European Research Infrastructure Consortium) in 2017, involving ministries or Research Councils in its governance.

France is a founding member of CESSDA ERIC with its PROGEDO infrastructure, whose CESSDA France-Réseau Quetelet department is to act as the French National Service Provider for CESSDA.

Transnational data access

Few partner databanks of CESSDA currently host detailed data which require secure access, such as those from public statistics and administration. The potential from a research standpoint for such data to be made available will be of the utmost importance for CESSDA after its initial construction phase (creating a catalog and a European database).

CASD involvement and long term interest

CASD is currently involved in two CASSDA activities in the scope of its construction phase. CASD thus follows the standards for metadata which will be recommended to CESSDA partners and on the establishment of a single access point (one stop shop) enabling researchers to quickly access every available resource.

In the long run, CASD is interested by CESSDA’s role in deploying a distributed secure infrastructure as drawn out in the DwB project for confidential national data and in the ESSnet DARA project for European confidential data (Eurostat), both projects for which CASD has carried out a Proof of Concept.

CIMES

Metadata for national data in Europe…

CIMES (Centralising and Integrating Metadata from European Statistics) provides an overview of official microdata made available for statistical research in Europe.

This database describes access procedures, data documentation (public files, scientific files and secure files), access conditions and links to data supplier websites. CIMES does not provide access to the data; it only contains metadata. CIMES thus gathers information currently dispersed all over Europe, either in INS or data archives, and stores it in a structured database compliant with DDI.

…Available thanks to controlled and specific documentation

The documentation differentiates series, studies and data sets. A series is a group of studies showing a data collection process of transversal, longitudinal, or repeated data. It illustrates a continuous data collection process by INS, where each collection is a study. The data set refers to a group of files made available. For example, the survey on active population (LFS) is a series, the data collection from 2007 is a study, and the data set is a set of available files: for example the scientific file of survey on active population (EPA –SUF-) 2007.

Each of these levels is documented by a list of fields and controlled vocabulary. Currently CIMES covers 277 series, including 1 893 studies and 2 244 data sets in 31 European countries, also supplying links to main integrated microdata in Europe.
CIMES is an FP7 DwB product aiming to increase the use of official microdata in Europe. The Web application for CIMES is developed by CASD.

ADP, CED, CNRS-Réseau Quetelet, FORS, GESIS, RODA, ONS and UL have been involved in CIMES, collecting and structuring metadata during DwB. The work is still under way, supported by CNRS and CASD.

https://cimes.casd.eu/

DWB

Facilitating transnational access to confidential data

Researchers face numerous obstacles when wanting to work on detailed (confidential) data from a country in which they do not reside. Authorisation procedures and access modalities vary. Only a small number of countries authorize access from another country. With 29 partners in 14 European countries, involving national statistical institutes and social science databanks, the Data without Boundaries (2011-2015) FP7 project set the first stones for cooperation to ease transnational access to confidential data for research purposes.

A Proof of Concept for a secure distributed network

CASD, partner in the project alongside INSEE, built alongside DESTATIS (the German federal statistics institute) and GESIS a proof of concept for a secure distributed network, to help authorized users work from a one stop shop on transnational data in various secure centers.

This proof of concept shows the possibility of setting up an integrated highly secure infrastructure, flexible enough to take into account various national legislations and the resulting constraints. At the least, it enables the use of the same equipment, same procedures, and the same access point by all. Such a network, will potentially help a research team, spread across many countries, to work together on multiple sources and combine analysis time.

Towards a step by step construction

DwB partners have also worked concretely on solutions to immediately improve the information and documentation on national data in Europe. In particular, the CASD built the CIMES tool, Centralising and Integrating Metadata from European Statistics, a catalog of basic metadata, in English and in the international DDI format, on the data available in the various countries, the different types of files (public, de facto anonymized, confidential) with their procedures and links to data producers.

CASD continues to build, step by step, with partners and as close to researchers’ projects and needs as possible, creating bi-lateral and multilateral co-operations to concretely advance the construction of this infrastructure for research.

ESSNet Dara

CASD built an infrastructure for secure remote access (proof of concept) for the DARA project with Germany, the UK, Hungary and Portugal.

CASD presented the DARA European access centre pilot, at the WGSC (Working Group on Statistical Confidentiality) in Luxembourg (Eurostat). The pilot scheme was praised and deeply satisfied project partners.

 

[Schematics of the DARA European pilot]

Projets internationaux

Le CASD est engagé depuis sa création dans l’ouverture de l’accès transnational aux données confidentielles pour la recherche. L’accès est possible depuis les pays de l’Union Européenne ou des pays associés dans les mêmes conditions que pour les chercheurs résidents en France. Il est également désormais ouvert depuis l’Amérique du Nord  avec quelques dispositions spécifiques. Enfin le CASD participe de façon très active à des projets européens et internationaux visant à faciliter l’utilisation des données confidentielles par delà les frontières nationales.

Un accès sécurisé depuis les pays de l’Union européenne et les pays associés.

Pour les résidents des pays de l’Union européenne et des pays associés, les critères d’accréditation et les procédures sont identiques à celles des résidents en France (procédure d’habilitation). L’accréditation auprès du Comité du Secret Statistique et l’enrôlement au CASD nécessitent un court déplacement en France. L’accès sécurisé peut ensuite se faire depuis l’institution du demandeur, via l’installation d’une SD-Box adressée par voie postale.

Les données de l’INSEE désormais accessibles depuis l’Amérique du Nord

L’Insee, dans sa volonté de soutien à la recherche, a également autorisé l’accès à ses données avec des SD-Box du CASD localisées aux Etats-Unis et au Canada dans les situations suivantes:

  • Chercheurs ressortissants d’un État membre de l’Union européenne, en poste au sein d’une université ou d’un centre de recherches ou d’études américain ou canadien ;
  • Chercheurs en poste au sein d’une université ou d’un centre de recherches ou d’études américain ou canadien, dans le cadre d’un projet de recherche mené en partenariat avec un centre de recherche ou d’études ou une université d’un État membre de l’Union européenne.

Le CASD s’efforce de promouvoir au niveau européen et international un accès plus facile des chercheurs aux données confidentielles aux delà des frontières nationales. Après avoir participé à deux projets européens portant sur les conditions et la faisabilité d’un réseau de centres sécurisés tant pour les données nationales, Dwb du FP7 (PCRD) qu’européennes avec l’EssNet correspondant (projet financé par Eurostat), le CASD coordonne l’IDAN (International Data Access Network) qui construit concrètement la coopération entre 6 centres sécurisés de 4 pays (France, Allemagne, Pays-Bas et Royaume-Uni avec l’objectif de faciliter pour les chercheurs l’utilisation des données confidentielles de ces centres pour un même projet. Des partenariats sont ainsi progressivement mis en place comme celui avec l’Agence fédérale allemande de l’emploi FDZ/ IAB.

EssNet SCFE

Le CASD est partenaire du projet ESSnet SCFE (Sharing Common Functionalities in the ESS), coordonné par l’INSEE et financé par la Commission Européenne via EUROSTAT. Ce projet vise à promouvoir le partage d’expérience et le développement de solutions communes entre les instituts statistiques et autres autorités statistiques au sein de l’ESS dans la perspective de mettre en œuvre une architecture « service-oriented ».

Le CASD travaille avec l’INSEE sur la réutilisation du service de publication RDF (Resource Description Framework) de l’INSEE afin de récupérer les principales métadonnées directement à la source pour les mettre à disposition de ses utilisateurs.

CESSDA

Le CESSDA (Consortium of European Social Sciences Data Archives) a pour mission de coordonner en Europe l’accès aux données pour la recherche en sciences sociales via l’adoption de standards et bonnes pratiques professionnelles pour l’archivage, la documentation et l’accès aux données hébergées dans les banques de données des pays membres. Il est l’une des 5 grandes infrastructures de recherche pour les sciences sociales, reconnue dans le cadre du processus ESFRI (European Strategy Forum on Research Infrastructures).

Le CASD apporte une contribution ponctuelle au développement du CESSDA et à ses activités dans le cadre de PROGEDO (PROduction et GEstion des DOnnées en SHS).

La France, membre fondateur du réseau européen

Fondé en 1976, le CESSDA prend en 2013 la forme d’une infrastructure européenne de recherche en 2013 et est doté en 2017 du statut juridique d’ERIC (European Research Infrastructure Consortium), impliquant ainsi ministères ou Research Councils dans sa gouvernance.

La France est membre fondateur du CESSDA ERIC via PROGEDO dont le département CESSDA France- Réseau Quetelet doit assurer le rôle de Service Provider national français pour le CESSDA.

L’accès transnational aux données confidentielles

Peu de banques de données partenaires du CESSDA hébergent actuellement des données très détaillées requérant la mise en place d’un accès sécurisé, telles que celles en provenance de la statistique publique et administrative.

Le potentiel pour la recherche que représente l’ouverture de telles sources de données va être un enjeu important pour le CESSDA dans les années à venir après sa phase de construction initiale (mise en place d’un catalogue et d’une base de questions européenne).

L’implication du CASD et un intérêt à terme

Dans la phase actuelle, le CASD a participé à deux des activités mises en place par le CESSDA dans le cadre de sa phase de construction. Le CASD suit ainsi la réflexion sur les standards pour les metadonnées qui seront recommandés aux partenaires du CESSDA et celle sur la mise en place d’un point d’accès unique (one stop shop) permettant aux chercheurs d’accéder rapidement à l’ensemble des ressources disponibles.

A terme, le CASD est intéressé par le rôle que pourrait jouer le CESSDA pour la mise en place d’une infrastructure sécurisée distribuée telle que celle dessinée dans le cadre du projet DwB pour les données nationales confidentielles et dans le cadre du projet ESSnet DARA pour l’accès aux données confidentielles européennes (Eurostat), deux projets pour lesquels le CASD a mis en place un Proof of Concept.

CIMES

Des Métadonnées pour les données nationales en Europe…

CIMES (Centralising and Integrating Metadata from European Statistics) fournit un aperçu général et complet des microdonnées officielles diffusées à des fins de recherche par les instituts nationaux de statistique (INS) en Europe.

Il s’agit d’une base de données décrivant ces microdonnées, les procédures pour en demander l’accès, des informations sur les fichiers disponibles (fichiers publics, fichiers scientifiques, fichiers sécurisés), les conditions d’accès et les liens vers les fournisseurs. Il ne donne pas un accès direct aux données, il ne contient que des métadonnées. CIMES regroupe ainsi des informations qui sont actuellement dispersées dans toute l’Europe, soit dans les INS ou les archives de données, et les stockent dans une base de données structurée compatible avec la norme DDI.

…Accessibles grâce à une documentation précise et contrôlée

La documentation distingue les séries, les études et les ensembles de données. Une série est un ensemble d’études représentant un processus de collecte de données transversales longitudinales ou répétées. Il illustre le processus continu de collecte de données effectué par les INS, où chaque vague de collecte est une étude. L’ensemble de données se réfère à l’ensemble des fichiers qui sont diffusés. Par exemple, l’Enquête sur la population active (LFS) est une série, la collecte réelle des données en 2007 est une étude, le LFS 2007 et l’ensemble de données est un ensemble de fichiers diffusés, par exemple le fichier scientifique de l’EPA (SUF) 2007.

Chacun de ces niveaux est documenté par une liste de champs et un vocabulaire contrôlé. Actuellement, CIMES couvre 277 séries, dont 1 893 études et 2 244 ensembles de données dans 31 pays européens, fournissant également des liens pour les principales microdonnées intégrées européennes.

CIMES est un produit du projet européen FP7 DwB qui vise à faciliter l’utilisation du nombre croissant de microdonnées officielles en Europe. L’application Web CIMES est développée par le CASD.

ADP, CED, CNRS-Réseau Quetelet, FORS, GESIS, RODA, ONS et UL ont participé au CIMES, collectant et structurant les métadonnées pour la durée du projet DwB. Le travail se poursuit actuellement avec le soutien du CNRS et du CASD.

https://cimes.casd.eu/

DWB

Faciliter l’accès transnational aux données confidentielles

Les chercheurs font face à de grandes difficultés pour travailler sur des données très détaillées (ou dites confidentielles) d’un pays dont ils ne sont pas résidents. Les procédures d’habilitation tout comme les modes d’accès diffèrent. Peu de pays autorisent un accès sécurisé à distance depuis un autre pays. Avec 29 partenaires de 14 pays européens, impliquant des instituts nationaux de statistiques et des banques de données pour les sciences sociales, le projet Data Without Boundaries (2011-2015) financé dans le cadre du 7ème programme cadre de la Commission Européenne, a jeté les bases d’une coopération visant à faciliter l’accès transnational aux données confidentielles pour la recherche.

Un Proof of Concept pour un réseau sécurisé distribué

Le CASD, partenaire de ce projet aux côtés de l’INSEE, a notamment construit avec l’institut fédéral de statistique allemande, DESTATIS, et la banque de données pour la recherche allemande, le GESIS, un Proof of concept pour un réseau sécurisé distribué.

Celui-ci permettrait aux utilisateurs habilités de travailler avec un équipement et un seul point d’accès sur des données hébergées par-delà les frontières dans différents centres sécurisés. Le Proof of Concept :

  • montre la possibilité de mettre en œuvre une infrastructure intégrée, dotée d’une très haute sécurité tout en étant flexible aux contraintes variables des différentes législations nationales.
  • permet a minima aux utilisateurs de travailler avec un même équipement, une même procédure et d’un même point d’accès sur des sources de données situées dans les centres sécurisés partenaires.

Un tel réseau, utilisé dans tout son potentiel, rend possible à une équipe de chercheurs localisés dans différents pays de travailler ensemble facilement sur des sources multiples et éventuellement combinables le temps de l’analyse.

Vers une construction pas à pas

Les partenaires de DwB ont également travaillé sur des solutions pour améliorer l’information et la documentation sur les données nationales en Europe, comme le CASD qui a notamment construit , (Centralising and Integrating Metadata from European Statistics).

Le CASD va travailler à construire pas à pas, avec quelques partenaires et au plus près des projets des chercheurs et de leurs besoins, des coopérations bi-latérales ou multilatérales pour avancer concrètement dans la construction de cette infrastructure pour la recherche.

ESSNet Dara

Le CASD a mis en place une infrastructure d’accès sécurisé distant dans le cadre d’un pilote (proof of concept) pour le projet collaboratif européen DARA avec l’Allemagne, la Grande Bretagne, la Hongrie et le Portugal.

Dans ce cadre, le CASD a présenté le pilote de centre d’accès sécurisé européen, appelé DARA, au WGSC (Working Group on Statistical Confidentiality) à Luxembourg (Eurostat). Ce dispositif pilote, qui s’appuie sur la technologie CASD, a donné entière satisfaction aux partenaires du projet.

 

[Schéma du déploiement pour le pilote européen DARA]